Cover image for
Title:
Good as gone
Author(s):
Gentry, Amy,
ISBN/ISSN:
9780544920958

0544920953
Personal Author:
Physical Description:
273 pages ; 24 cm
Abstract:
"Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic--but Anna, Julie's mother, has whispers of doubts. She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter. Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages"-- Provided by publisher.
Geographic Term:
Pub Date:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2016.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Audience
Genre
Home Location
Material Type
Language
Shelf Number
Status
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Kendall Library and Drive-up -- Houston Public Library (Closed for Repair) Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Ring - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Heights - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Heights - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Looscan - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Library Materials Services - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...
Walter - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book GENTR
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic--but Anna, Julie's mother, has whispers of doubts. She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train , and keep readers guessing until the final pages.


Author Notes

AMY GENTRY is a book reviewer for the Chicago Tribune whose work has also appeared in Salon , LA Review of Books , and the  Best Food Writing of 2014 . This is her first novel.


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

Julie, kidnapped from her home at 13, miraculously arrives back on her doorstep eight years later. Her parents, Anna and Tom, and her sister, Jane, try to reconnect, but Julie is secretive and rebellious, sneaking out instead of going to counseling and, aside from generic testimony for the police report, refusing to talk about what happened to her. Anna begins to wonder, Is this young woman really Julie, or could it be someone else? Clever perspective changes give Gentry's debut building suspense; Anna, speaking in first person, considers her daughter's remoteness and meets with a PI to discover where Julie goes during the day; as Anna's investigation moves forward, chapters from Julie's perspective move backward, so readers inch toward learning more about her identity. Fans of Paula Hawkins' The Girl on the Train will enjoy the shifting points of view and the complex female characters, and those who liked Samantha Hunt's Mr. Splitfoot will appreciate the seedy characters and haunting theme of childhood vulnerability. The prevalence of pedophilia and sexual abuse may be too much for some, but Gentry's depiction of a family working through immense suffering will connect with many readers.--Grant, Sarah Copyright 2016 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

The life of Anna Davalos, the narrator of Gentry's suspenseful if flawed first novel, has been defined by a single night-when her 13-year-old daughter, Julie, was abducted at knifepoint by an intruder into their Houston home, a crime witnessed by her terrified 10-year-old daughter, Jane. Eight years later, Anna's relationship with Jane is strained, and no one is looking for Julie any more. Anna's life is upended again when Julie shows up on her doorstep, traumatized physically and mentally. Julie's account of her captivity is harrowing, but Anna soon suspects that Julie isn't being completely honest about what happened. Those doubts extend to the basic question of whether the young woman is really Julie or a manipulative, cynical imposter. As the family adjusts to the new reality, Anna's relationships with her husband and Jane suffer. Gentry does a good job of making the characters, especially Anna, psychologically plausible, but the final revelation is a letdown. Agent: Sharon Pelletier, Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

[DEBUT] Eight years ago, 13-year-old Julie was kidnapped from her room, while little sister Janie watched with horror from the closet. Her parents, Anna and Tom, spent countless hours and funds searching for her to no avail. Fast-forward to the present, Anna casually responds to the doorbell during the dinner hour, and an adult Julie falls back into their lives. The family's joy is tempered with awkwardness, hurt feelings, regret, and suspicion. Then, a private investigator emerges and asks Anna if she's sure this young woman is her long-lost daughter? First novelist Gentry presents a familiar plot-a missing relative returns to an unsure family. But Gentry's treatment is effective, with a swift-moving narrative and an interesting backstory for Julie and engrossing insight into Anna's ambivalence and grief. The story alludes to but ultimately misses the opportunity to discuss serious issues (i.e., child trafficking), but for the beach read that this book ultimately is, that's an acceptable omission. In this way, Gentry tries to do a little too much. Verdict A good pick for fans of mysteries, thrillers, and family drama.-Nicole A. Cooke, GSLIS, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview