Cover image for
Title:
The selling of the Babe : the deal that changed baseball and created a legend
Author(s):
Stout, Glenn, 1958-
ISBN/ISSN:
9781250064318 (hardback)

1250064317 (hardback)
Personal Author:
Physical Description:
294 pages, 8 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 25 cm
Contents:
Prologue: September 11, 1918 -- George Herman Ruth -- This means war -- 1918 -- Hijinks and heroes -- Out of left field -- Rebellion and revolution -- The Insurrectors -- For sale -- Welcome to New York -- The "Infant Swatigy" -- A new day -- Making the sale -- The Babe -- Epilogue: Closing the sale -- Appendix. Babe Ruth home run log : 1915 through 1920.
Abstract:
"The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known. More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including: -Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert -Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale - Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder The Selling of Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire. Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe"-- Provided by publisher.
Bibliography Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages [269]-275) and index.
Pub Date:
Thomas Dunne Books, St. Martins Press, [2016]
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Audience
Genre
Home Location
Material Type
Language
Shelf Number
Status
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Non-fiction Book 796.35709 S889
Searching...
Collier - Houston Public Library (Reopens March 27, 2017) Adult Non-fiction Book 796.35709 S889
Searching...
Heights - Houston Public Library Adult Non-fiction Book 796.35709 S889
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The complete story surrounding the most famous and significant player transaction in professional sports

The sale of Babe Ruth by the Boston Red Sox to the New York Yankees in 1919 is one of the pivotal moments in baseball history, changing the fortunes of two of baseball's most storied franchises, and helping to create the legend of the greatest player the game has ever known.

More than a simple transaction, the sale resulted in a deal that created the Yankee dynasty, turned Boston into an also-ran, helped save baseball after the Black Sox scandal and led the public to fall in love with Ruth. Award-winning baseball historian Glenn Stout reveals brand-new information about Babe and the unique political situation surrounding his sale, including:

-Prohibition and the lifting of Blue Laws in New York affected Yankees owner and beer baron Jacob Ruppert
-Previously unexplored documents reveal that the mortgage of Fenway Park did not factor into the Ruth sale
- Ruth's disruptive influence on the Red Sox in 1918 and 1919, including sabermetrics showing his negative impact on the team as he went from pitcher to outfielder

The Selling of the Babe is the first book to focus on the ramifications of the sale and captures the central moment of Ruth's evolution from player to icon, and will appeal to fans of The Kid and Pinstripe Empire . Babe's sale to New York and the subsequent selling of Ruth to America led baseball from the Deadball Era and sparked a new era in the game, one revolved around the long ball and one man, The Babe.


Author Notes

Glenn Stout has been the series editor of "The Best American Sports Writing" since its inception & has written three illustrated biographies with Richard A. Johnson: "Ted Williams," "Joe DiMaggio," & "Jackie Robinson." He lives in Uxbridge, Massachusetts.


Reviews 2

Booklist Review

Although baseball fans might groan at the idea of another book on Babe Ruth, author Stout, who edits the Best American Sports Writing series, brings reporting chops and fresh insights into one of the more momentous transactions in sports history: the 1919 sale of Ruth from the Red Sox to the Yankees. Among Stout's many salient points: Sox owner Harry Frazee was not so frivolous as to need to sell Ruth to finance the Broadway show No, No, Nanette but, instead, used the sale to purchase Fenway Park. And it was never certain that the mercurial Ruth, who'd hit relatively few home runs at Fenway (and relatively many at the Yankees' Polo Grounds), would succeed in Boston and, if he did, whether the Red Sox, who struggled to draw crowds, could afford Ruth's subsequent contracts. The Curse of the Bambino having lifted in the wake of Boston's 2004 World Series triumph, even Red Sox fans should enjoy this entertaining, myth-busting account.--Moores, Alan Copyright 2016 Booklist


Library Journal Review

Superstitious Boston Red Sox fans have long blamed the "Curse of the Bambino" for the team's 86-year World Series Championship drought, which lasted from 1918 to 2004. If the Sox had only held on to George Herman "Babe" Ruth Jr. after the 1919 season, the team's fortunes could have been very different. Then-owner Harry Frazee sold Ruth for cheap in order to fund the Broadway shows he ran, or so grumbled Sox fans for decades afterward. Here prolific sportswriter Stout (series editor, "Best American Sports Writing") seeks to set the record straight. The book debunks many of the myths and assumptions about the events leading up to the sale of Babe Ruth to the New York Yankees by the Boston Red Sox in 1919. Stout brings the era alive with its colorful characters, including Frazee, American League president Ban Johnson, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert, and, of course, the Babe himself. VERDICT Stout uses his considerable skills as a writer and historian to show how this event helped bring about baseball's modern era. His portrayal of this pivotal moment is fully engaging, taking the reader back to that exciting time.-Brett Rohlwing, Milwaukee P.L. © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Table of Contents

Introductionp. 1
Prologue: September 11, 1918p. 5
1 George Herman Ruthp. 11
2 This Means Warp. 31
3 1918p. 39
4 Hijinks and Heroesp. 71
5 Out of Left Fieldp. 95
6 Rebellion and Revolutionp. 116
7 The Insurrectosp. 155
8 For Salep. 169
9 Welcome to New Yorkp. 185
10 The "Infant Swatigy"p. 197
11 A New Dayp. 209
12 Making the Salep. 219
13 The Babep. 231
Epilogue: Closing the Salep. 250
Notesp. 257
Bibliographyp. 269
Appendix: Babe Ruth Home Run Log; 1915 Through 1920p. 277
Indexp. 281

Google Preview