Cover image for
Title:
Those who wish me dead
Author(s):
Koryta, Michael
ISBN/ISSN:
9780316122559
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Description:
392 pages ; 25 cm
Geographic Term:
Pub Date:
Little, Brown and Company, 2014.
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Audience
Genre
Home Location
Material Type
Language
Shelf Number
Status
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
Meyer - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
Meyer - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
Young - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
McGovern-Stella Link -- Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
Kendall Library and Drive-up -- Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...
Frank - Houston Public Library Adult Fiction Book KORYT
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The newest thriller from Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author.
When 13-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he's plunged into a new life, issued a false identity and hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled teens. The plan is to get Jace off the grid while police find the two killers. The result is the start of a nightmare.

The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are slaughtering anyone who gets in their way in a methodical quest to reach him. Now all that remains between them and the boy are Ethan and Allison Serbin, who run the wilderness survival program; Hannah Faber, who occupies a lonely fire lookout tower; and endless miles of desolate Montana mountains.

The clock is ticking, the mountains are burning, and those who wish Jace Wilson dead are no longer far behind.


Author Notes

While still in high school, Michael Koryta worked as a newspaper reporter and for a private investigator. His first book, Tonight I Said Goodbye, was published when he was twenty-one years old and an undergraduate at Indiana University. It won the Great Lakes Book Award for best mystery. Envy the Night won the 2008 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for best mystery/thriller. He is the author of the Lincoln Perry series and teaches at the Indiana University School of Journalism.

Koryta's book Those Who Wish Me Dead made the Nwe York Time bestseller list in 2014.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

*Starred Review* Koryta, a widely praised veteran of cross-genre tales, has upped his game with this stand-alone's seamless blend of western-wilderness thriller and mainstream crime fiction, with a prickly dab of horror. Ethan Serbin, an elite survival-skills instructor during his Air Force career, now runs a similar program for troubled teens in the Montana wilderness. Without warning, a former student reappears, pleading with Ethan to take on a special student. Jace Wilson witnessed the terrifyingly calculating Blackwell brothers committing murder, and he's in hiding until he can testify. In Ethan's camp, the former student reasons, Jace will be off the grid and protected by one of the few men certain to help him survive. Ethan agrees, and once the teens arrive that summer with Jace hidden among them, it's not long before the brothers come for him, flaunting their mystifying ability to manipulate the authorities attempting to keep Jace's location secret. Unmatched in weapons and brutality, Jace; Ethan; his wife, Allison; and a young fire watcher named Hannah Faber battle to survive a raging wildfire and the murderous intent of a creepy pair of killers rivaling the deadly preacher in The Night of the Hunter. A must-read for fans of C. J. Box and Nevada Barr. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Combine Koryta's existing fan base, the current vogue for wilderness thrillers, and an aggressive marketing campaign, and you get a novel certain to attract a whole lot of eager readers.--Tran, Christine Copyright 2014 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

A lack of morally complex characters facing tough ethical choices makes this fast-paced thriller a lesser effort for Edgar finalist Koryta (The Prophet). At an abandoned quarry in Indiana, 13-year-old Jace Wilson, who's just jumped into the quarry's pool, sees two men in police uniform cut a man's throat and toss him into the water. The killers chase Jace after finding his clothes, but he manages to escape. Jamie Bennett, a former U.S. Marshal, places Jace in the care of a friend of hers, survival trainer Ethan Serbin, who takes him along on a wilderness training program that he runs for troubled youths in Montana, though Ethan doesn't know which of the seven boys he'll be instructing needs witness protection. Inevitably, the two creepy killers get on Ethan's trail. For someone as smart as Ethan is supposed to be, he fails to anticipate an obvious move on the part of the killers, leading to the first of several developments that many readers will view as contrived. Agent: David Hale Smith, Inkwell Management. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

Kortya (The Prophet) opens his latest thriller with a very likeable 13-year-old Jace Wilson witnessing a brutal murder committed by assassins-and brothers-Jack and Patrick Blackwell. Instead of being placed in the regular witness protection program, the boy is hidden in a Montana wilderness survival camp for troubled teens, run by Ethan and Alison Serbin. Jace and Ethan are soon putting their outdoor skills to the test as they are hunted down by the Blackwell brothers. Allison and a former firefighter named Hannah round out the cast of characters in this fast-paced, terrifically entertaining novel. VERDICT The Blackwell brothers' devious methods, the fire raging across the mountains, and the actions of those trying to save Jace will keep readers up well into the night. With a national author tour and movie rights already sold, this, Kortya's tenth novel, could be the one that brings the talented writer into the mainstream. [See Prepub Alert, 1/6/14.]-Jason L. Steagall, Gateway Technical Coll. Lib., Elkhorn, WI (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview