Cover image for
Title:
All day and a night : a novel of suspense
Author(s):
Burke, Alafair
ISBN/ISSN:
9780062208385
Personal Author:
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Description:
352 pages ; 24 cm.
Series:
The Ellie Hatcher series

Ellie Hatcher series.
Abstract:
When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband—until the District Attorney’s office receives an anonymous letter. The letter’s author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret: the victim’s bones were broken after she was killed. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose. NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan are tapped as the “fresh look” team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro’s conviction. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate named Carrie Blank, whose older sister was one of Amaro’s victims.
Geographic Term:
Pub Date:
Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2014]
Holds:

Available:*

Library
Audience
Genre
Home Location
Material Type
Language
Shelf Number
Status
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Central - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Robinson-Westchase - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Looscan - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Looscan - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Collier - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Freed-Montrose -- Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Smith - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Tuttle - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Henington-Alief - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Ring - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Heights - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...
Hillendahl - Houston Public Library Adult Mystery Fiction Book BURKE
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the "terrific web spinner" (Entertainment Weekly) Alafair Burke.

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband--until the District Attorney's office receives an anonymous letter. The letter's author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret: the victim's bones were broken after she was killed. Her injuries were eerily similar to the signature used twenty years earlier by Anthony Amaro, a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose.

NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan are tapped as the "fresh look" team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro's conviction. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate named Carrie Blank, whose older sister was one of Amaro's victims.

As the NYPD and Amaro's lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie's hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack--one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.


Author Notes

Alafair Burke graduated from Reed College and Stanford Law School. After graduating, she became a Deputy District Attorney in Portland, Oregon where she worked as a trial lawyer prosecuting domestic violence offenses and as a liaison to the police department. After five years of working at the District Attorney's Office, she decided to start writing. Her first novel, Judgment Calls, was published in 2003. Her other works include Long Gone, If You Were Here, The Ex, A Samantha Kincaid Mystery series, the Ellie Hatcher series, and the Under Suspicion series written with Mary Higgins Clark. She currently teaches criminal law and procedure at Hofstra Law School.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 3

Booklist Review

The case that convicted serial killer Anthony Amaro was seemingly airtight, complete with eyewitness identification and a confession. But when a recent high-profile murder shows striking similarities to Amaro's killings, his media-courting celebrity defense attorney moves for reexamination of the evidence. In response, the NYC district attorney convenes a fresh look team begrudgingly led by Ellie Hatcher and her partner, JJ Rogan. They've barely scratched the case's surface when they discover that there's a hint of fabrication in Amaro's confession, and new DNA evidence on one of the victims, Donna Blank, may point to another killer. Amaro's defense also has a secret weapon in Carrie Blank, a promising young attorney who just happens to be Donna Blank's half-sister. She's not convinced Amaro is her sister's killer, and she's determined to find out the truth about her sister's death. This isn't just another oops-maybe-he's-not-the-real-killer novel; Burke deftly merges Ellie's, Carrie's, and Amaro's stories into a multifaceted portrait of unconditional love with thriller pacing and plenty of solid investigative detail. Perfect for Laura Lippman fans.--Tran, Christine Copyright 2010 Booklist


Publisher's Weekly Review

Has suspected serial killer Anthony Amaro spent 18 years in New York's Five Points Correctional Facility for a murder he didn't commit? In Burke's gripping fifth novel of suspense featuring NYPD Det. Ellie Hatcher (after 2012's Never Tell), Ellie must suss that out in the wake of a fresh slaying in Brooklyn with the same signature, for which Amaro has an ironclad alibi. She must also consider the evidence against Amaro in five earlier murders in his hometown of Utica, N.Y., for which he was never prosecuted. That Ellie has recently moved in with the guy calling the shots, ADA Max Donovan, complicates matters, as does Carrie Blank, the associate of the lawyer handling Amaro's wrongful-conviction claim, being the half-sister of one of the Utica victims. Burke sets the equally driven Ellie and Carrie on a collision course in a propulsive thriller marred only by the plot's overreliance on coincidence. Agent: Philip Spitzer, Philip Spitzer Literary Agency. (June) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

The shocking murder of psychotherapist Helen Brunswick complicates an old case, as NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher and attorney Carrie Blank both search for the truth from opposite sides of the law. When similarities between Helen's murder and those of past serial killer victims come to light and an anonymous letter with inside information about Helen's case that might exonerate the convicted killer arrives, the police are forced to reevaluate the previous cases. While Ellie is assigned to the "fresh look" team, Carrie goes to work for a celebrity lawyer specializing in wrongful convictions and representing Anthony Amaro, the man imprisoned for the murders. She is enticed by the idea of discovering the truth, because her half sister was one of the original victims. As the cops and lawyers navigate new evidence and old confessions, they uncover dark secrets kept hidden for decades. This is the fifth book in the Ellie Hatcher series (after Never Tell), and familiarity with previous entries is helpful but not necessary. VERDICT A satisfying police procedural with added interest from alternating perspectives of detective and attorney. For fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen, and readers who enjoy tough female police officer protagonists and complex plots. [See Prepub Alert, 1/6/14.]--Emily Byers, Tillamook Cty. Lib., OR (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview